Local Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

click here to
The Daily

web page consultants:
Servant Technologies


03-10-03: Fort Recovery Chamber honors residents for longtime service
The Daily Standard
    FORT RECOVERY - Pat Hull was named 2002 Citizen of the Year and Harold Ranly and Dave Bretz were inducted into the 2002 Hall of Fame at the Fort Recovery Chamber of Commerce awards banquet Sunday at Mary Help of Christians Catholic Church.
    Hull is active with many community organizations including Psi Iota Xi sorority, the historical society and with her church, as well as a longtime volunteer at school.
    Harold Ranly, a former Fort Recovery fire chief and business owner, is the unofficial village historian. He shares his hundreds of old photos and stories of the old days with town residents and visitors and speaks regularly of history with Fort Recovery third-graders.
    An 11-year member of village council, Bretz is a charter member of the Lions Club and takes an active part in a variety of projects for the Athletic Boosters.
    The ninth annual Outstanding Community Service Award went to the Fort Recovery Historical Society, an active force in the community for more than 50 years.
    Awards for home beautification were given to Mitch and Tammy Leuthold for most improved dwelling, Naturešs Corner/Wayne and Trish Fisher for most improved property, and Craig Braun for best landscaping.
    The Chamber of Com-merce/Rabe Scholarship was won by Jason Wenning.
    The same list of people also were honored with certificates of recognition from Fort Recovery Mayor John Wolf, Mercer County Commissioners Jim Zehringer, Jerry Laffin and Tom Gagel, state Senator Jim Jordan and 77th District Rep. Keith Faber.
    Citizens of the year for the past 10 years include: Cathy Koesters, Helen LeFevre, Barb Meiring, Chris Schoen, Jack Staugler, Ted Romer, Kim Day, Tom Kaup, Pam Hicks and Randy Diller.
    Ten years of hall of famers includes: Janice Fiely, Adam Beach, Eva Austin, Jerry Pearson, Floyd Bergman, Ted Shuttleworth, Irene Stone, Norb Metzger, Marguerite Schroer, Jim Zehringer, Burleigh Burke, Kathy Staugler, Bill Staugler, Rich Portz, Barb Meiring, Buck Mays, Fannie Wolfe, Dana Gebele, Virginia Franke and Clarence Rabe.


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2003
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822