Previous Home Next

Previous Issue

Daily Standard Web Gallery

Next Issue


Saturday, August 30, 2003

Issue Index

Bill Wente, president of the First National Bank of New Bremen, presented a check for $1,000 to the Western Ohio Education Foundation (WOEF) scholarship fund at Wright State University-Lake Campus. Of the total donation, $500 was awarded as a First National Bank of New Bremen Scholarship, and $500 will help support Academic Excellence Scholarships. From left are WOEF board members Bernie Schroer and Bob Sudhoff, Wente, Lake Campus Dean Anita Curry-Jackson and Lake Campus Assistant Dean for Development Tom Knapke. The First National Bank of New Bremen $500 scholarship was awarded to April Kaiser of Fort Recovery High School, and Carol Borchers of New Bremen High School won one of the 20 first-year $3,000 scholarships awarded to area students from the Academic Excellence Fund. Also making a $500 donation to the WOEF scholarship fund was the St. Henry Bank. Winner of the $3,000 first-year scholarship from St. Henry High School was Melissa Muhlenkamp.