Local Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

01-27-04: WOHSBC crowns singles champions

From staff reports

The West Ohio High School Bowling Conference held its annual singles tournament on Sunday at Astro Lanes in Wapakoneta.
Fifty-four varsity boys and fifty-two varsity girls competed in the tournament with the pool split after the first two games and then the field whittled down to five after the third game.
The top-seeded bowler was given a bye to the championship game while the others battled through a “stepladder” round to get to the finals, meaning one had to win two games to get to the championship.
In the end, Daniel Ruck of Wapakoneta made it through his two stepladder games and defeated teammate Brian Garman 236-170 to win the boys varsity title. Ruck beat Ty Kreischer of Crestview 232-181 to advance to play another Redskin in the semifinal. Ruck beat teammate Ben Wubbenhorst 217-199 to reach the final.
In the girls varsity final, Jessica Reynolds of St. Marys posted the highest three-game total to advance automatically into the championship game and then won the championship by beating Celina’s Sara Wehrhahn 157-131 for the championship.
Wehrhahn, who was the fourth-seed in the stepladder round, beat fellow Bulldog Kelly Matthews 150-134 before beating Van Wert’s Tracy East 173-168 to advance to the championship.
In the boys’ junior varisty competition, Wapak’s David Edgington won the competition, beating top seed Kris Schlater of St. Henry 219-143 in the championship match. Edgington made the final after beating Kyle Koesters of St. Henry 211-206 in the first stepladder game then ousted Celina’s Kyle Everman 202-169 to reach the finals.
Regular WOHSBC action returns this Sunday at Plaza Lanes in Celina.
Final results from the West Ohio High School Bowling Conference’s Singles Tournament held at Astro Lanes in Wapakoneta.

Boys varsity
Qualifying top 10 (top five advance to stepladder finals)
1. Brian Garman (Wapakoneta) 689; 2. Jarrod Farris (Crestview) 649; 3. Daniel Ruck (Wapakoneta) 633; 4. Ty Kreischer (Crestview) 615; 5. Ben Wuebbenhorst (Wapakoneta) 613; 6. Matt Shellabarger (Celina) 609, 7. Chris Cerda (Wapakoneta) 602; 8. Kyle Spence (Celina)597; 9. Toby Price (Wapakoneta) 595; 10. Jared Liette (Coldwater) 593.
Stepladder finals
Ruck def. Kreischer 232-181; Wuebbenhorst def. Farris 221-139.
Ruck def. Wuebbenhorst 217-199.
Championship Game
Ruck def. Garman 236-170.
Girls varsity
Qualifying top 10 (top five advance to stepladder finals)
1. Jessica Reynolds (St. Marys) 574; 2. Tracy East (Van Wert) 542; 3. Kelly Matthews (Celina) 528; 4. Sara Wehrhahn (Celina) 526; 5. Kristen Nuttle (Parkway) 498; 6. Clarissa Dull (Van Wert) 491; 7. Beth Jutte (Coldwater) 491; 8. Chavonne Pruett (Van Wert) 484; 9. Ashley Wiswell (Wapakoneta) 477; 10. Britni Roberts (Van Wert) 472.
Stepladder finals
Wehrhahn def. Matthews 150-134; East def. Nuttle 200-176.
Wehrhahn def. East 173-168.
Championship Game
Reynolds def. Wehrhahn 157-131.
Boys junior varsity
Qualifying top five
1. Kris Schlater (St. Henry) 631; 2. Kyle Everman (Celina) 607; 3. David Edgington (Wapakoneta) 605; 4. Kyle Koesters (St. Henry) 603; 5. Jared Brockman (Coldwater) 583.
Stepladder finals
Everman def. Brockman 171-168; Edgington def. Koesters 211-206.
Edgington def. Everman 202-169.
Championship Game
Edgington def. Schlater 219-143.


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2003
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822


L10 Web Stats Reporter 3.15 LevelTen Hit Counter - Free Web Counters
LevelTen Web Design Company - Website Development, Flash & Graphic Designers