Local Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

05-17-04 Pitchers dominate MAC team voting

By From staff reports

  Two pitchers at the top of their game shared the baseball Player of the Year award as Coldwater's Steve Wenning and Marion Local's Cory Luebke took top player honors. Wenning is 10-0 with a 0.84 earned run average for league-leader Coldwater. Luebke is tops in the Grand Lake area in ERA with 0.40 and strikeouts with 104 through nine games to go along with a 5-3 record.

  Coldwater and Versailles, 1-2 in the league standings, placed four players each on the first team, as did Minster. Marion Local had three players on the first team.
  For softball, Marion Local's Dana Hartings won her second softball Player of the Year award after posting another dominating season from the circle. Hartings is 11-6 this season with 248 strikeouts and also leads the area in WHIP (walks and hits per innings pitched) with 0.51.
  New Bremen, currently holding a share of the league lead with one game left, placed four players on the first team while Parkway placed three players on the first team.
  The Coach of the Year awards for both sports, going to the coach or coaches of the conference champions, have yet to be determined due to games yet to be played.
The All-Midwest Athletic Conference
Players of the Year: Steve Wenning (CW) and Cory Luebke (ML).
First Team
  Pitchers: Steve Wenning (CW), Cory Luebke (ML), Scott Sherman (M), Andy Dues (SH), Zac Richard (V). Position Players: Coldwater -- Trent Gerlach, Chad Geier, Dusty Ahrens. Fort Recovery -- C.J. Tobe. Marion Local -- Adam Kremer, Eric Schroeder. Minster -- Tim Cordonnier, Jon Kaylor, Parks. New Bremen -- Greg McDermitt, Josh Richardson. New Knoxville -- Zach Miller. Parkway -- Jason Shaffer. St. Henry -- Evan Bertke. St. John's -- Clay Odenweller. Versailles -- Ben Shappie, Kyle Gehle, Alan Phlipot.
Second Team
  Pitchers: Alex Leugers (NB), Dusty Zizelman (P). Position Players: Coldwater -- Brent Schwieterman. Tyler Schwieterman. Fort Recovery -- Dusty Guggenbiller. St. Henry -- Jeremy Schwieterman. St. John's -- David Hayson. Versailles -- Joel Niekamp.
Honorable Mention
  Coldwater -- Troy Siefring, Craig Koesters. Fort Recovery -- Dusty Tobe, Nick Wehrkamp. Marion Local -- Mitch Thobe, Troy Luebke, Russell Moeller. Minster: Bob Inskeep, Dusty Ellis. New Bremen -- Shaun Imwalle, Andy McMurray. New Knoxville -- Kale Wierwille, Derreck Dillon, Jared Sunderland, Andy Kuck, Luke Howe. Parkway -- Josh Crouch, Barry Peel, Ryan Kennedy. St. Henry -- Bryan Post, Brady Schmitz. St. John's -- Jesse Kill. Versailles -- Jared Turner, Mark Kesier.

Player of the Year: Dana Hartings (ML).  
First Team
  Pitchers: Dana Hartings (ML), Julie Griesdorn (NB), Cassie Steinbrunner (P). Position Players: Coldwater -- Danielle Goubeaux, Katie Homan. Fort Recovery -- Joscie Kaup, Krystal Rammel. Minster -- Cheryl Dircksen, Valerie Bornhorst. New Bremen -- Ashley Egbert, Casey Hamilton, Elly Cisco. Parkway -- Jayme Marbaugh, Tiffany Steinbrunner. St. Henry -- Danielle Kremer. Versailles -- Amber Voisard, Cheri Stammen.
Second Team
  Pitchers: Julie Smith (FR), Erin Stueve (M). Position Players: Coldwater -- Amber Lefeld. Marion Local -- Megan Homan, Jennifer Rose. Minster -- Sarah Gusching. Parkway -- Jana Suman, Erica Yoder. Versailles -- Lynette Stauffer.
Honorable Mention
  Coldwater -- Tasha Stucke, Ashley Lefeld, Renee Hemmelgarn. Fort Recovery -- Lisa Grisez, Ciera Rammel, Alyssa Tobe. Marion Local -- Lynn Hartke, Megan Homan. Minster -- Stephanie Freytag. New Bremen -- Toni Goodwin, Kelli Steineman. Parkway -- Hillary Frank, Amanda Jutte, Brittany Young. St. Henry -- Karla Buschur; Kylie Elking. Versailles -- Becky Smith, Megan Brown, Rachel Schmitz.


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2004
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822


L10 Web Stats Reporter 3.15 LevelTen Hit Counter - Free Web Counters
LevelTen Web Design Company - Website Development, Flash & Graphic Designers