Today's Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

03-03-05 Moeller, Reynolds win MAC top honor

By From staff reports

  Moeller helped guide the Flyers to a 23-0 record and a second district title in three years. The 5-8 guard led the MAC in scoring at 18.4 points per game, assists with 6.4 apg., and steals with 5.55 spg.

  Moeller was joined by classmate Jenna Barhorst on the first team. Minster placed three players on the first team with seniors Karen Brackman, Amy Kremer and Danae Spieles. Fort Recovery and St. John's each had two players make the first team.
  Flyer coach Treva Fortkamp earned the coach of the year honors in helping the team win the league title and earn a regional tournament berth for the second time in three seasons.
  On the boys side, St. John's standout Chad Reynolds beat out a competitive field to earn player of the year honors. The Blue Jays captured their first outright MAC title in 16 years and the fourth for coach Brett Norris, who was named the boys basketball coach of the year in the MAC.
  Reynolds finished the regular season with 49 three-pointers and a 16.3 ppg. average for the Blue Jays, who will play in the district tournament this week. Reynolds won the top player title over other candidates like Nate Stahl of St. Henry and Joe Shardo of Versailles   Stahl and Redskin teammates Kurt Huelsman and Ross Niekamp all made the first team. Only St. Henry and St. John's had more than one player make the first team.

2004-05 Midwest Athletic Conference
First Team
  St. John's: Chad Reynolds and Matt Webb; Fort Recovery: Travis VanSkyock; Marion Local: Ryan Winner; Minster: Dane Sommer; New Bremen: Troy Lammers; New Knoxville: Dustan Kruse; Parkway: Mark Snyder; St. Henry: Nate Stahl, Kurt Huelsman and Ross Niekamp; Versailles: Joe Shardo.
Second Team
  Coldwater: Chad Miller and Craig Wellman; Fort Recovery: Dusty Tobe and Sean Kahlig; Minster: Zac Boeke, Andy Beckman and Justin Spillers; New Bremen: Scott Brackman and Scott Steineman; New Knoxville: Ross Stienecker; Versailles: Paul Borchers.
  Player of the Year: Chad Reynolds, St. John's
  Coach of the Year: Brett Norris, St. John's.
Honorable Mention    
  Coldwater: Chad Geier; St. John's: Bart Bergfeld; New Bremen: Allan Webster; New Knoxville: Kale Wierwille; Minster: Jake Luttmer; Parkway: Jeff Boyer; St. Henry: Jared Stammen; Versailles: Adam Barga.

First Team
  Coldwater: Kendra Robbins; St. John's: Jeanne Bockey and Elyse Grothouse.; Fort Recovery: Holly Stein and Tiff Gaerke; Marion Local: Maria Moeller and Jenna Barhorst; Minster: Karen Brackman, Amy Kremer and Danae Spieles; St. Henry: Brenda Hemmelgarn; Versailles: Justine Raterman.
Second Team
  Coldwater: Kelly Obringer; Fort Recovery: Krystal Rammel and Vicki Roessner; Marion Local: Kelli Stucke and Kelsey Schaefer; New Bremen: Kelly Steineman and Sarah Schmiesing; New Knoxville: Nicole Wright, Kara Katterheinrich and Kendal Bertsch; St. Henry: Danielle Kremer; Versailles: Amber Voisard.
  Player of the Year: Maria Moeller, Marion Local.
  Coach of the Year: Treva Fortkamp, Marion Local
Honorable Mention
  Coldwater: Leah Wenning and Amanda Harting; St. John's: Kim Miller; Minster: Kirby Boeke; New Bremen: Liz Schnelle; St. Henry: Kayla Lefeld; Versailles: Lynette Stauffer.


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2005
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822


L10 Web Stats Reporter 3.15 LevelTen Hit Counter - Free Web Counters
LevelTen Web Design Company - Website Development, Flash & Graphic Designers