Today's Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

05-17-05 MAC hands out awards

By From staff reports

  Geier, the starting shortstop for the league champion Cavaliers, leads the MAC in hitting with a .554 average with 42 runs scored and 33 runs batted in for 22-5 Coldwater this season. Geier was joined by five teammates on the first team this season.

  The coaches were split in the vote for softball player of the year, giving it to Rammel and Yoder. Rammel was batting .379 with two home runs and 13 RBI at the time of the vote for the outright league champions. Yoder, a shortstop for the Panthers, was batting .418 with 12 RBI for the MAC runner-up.
  Parkway placed four players on the first team. Rammel, on the other hand, was the only Indian to be named first team.
  Brian Harlamert earns the MAC coach of the year award in baseball for guiding the Cavaliers to the school's 23rd league championship. Fort Recovery coach Marie Osterholt was the softball coach of the year after guiding the Tribe to a second straight -- and first outright --league title.
    The 2005 Midwest Athletic Conference All-League Baseball and Softball teams.
First Team
  Steve Borger (CW), Nick Johnson (SJ), Todd Post (FR), Alex Leugers (NB), Zac Richard (V).
Position Players
  Coldwater: Ryan Gerlach, Chad Geier, Troy Siefring, Matt Howell, Craig Wellman; St. John's: Pete Collins, Adam Ricker; Marion Local: Joe Kemper, Troy Luebke; Minster: Ty Parks, Bob Inskeep; New Bremen: Andy McMurray, Craig Eiting; Parkway: Jordan Thompson, Steve Hays; St. Henry: Andy Puthoff; Versailles: Joe Shardo, Jared Turner.

Second Team
  Kyle Moeller (ML), Troy Luebke (ML), Dusty Ellis (M), Tyler Brickley (P), Brady Schmitz (SH).
Position Players
  Coldwater: Cody Muhlenkamp; Fort Recovery: Bobby Rammel; Marion Local: Mitch Thobe, Curtis Moeller, Andy Kuether; New Bremen: Todd Keller, Brian Garman; New Knoxville: Derrick Dillon, Kale Wierwille, Zach Miller, Kurt Brown; Parkway: Matt High, Trevor Krogman, Ryan Berry; St. Henry: Matt Dippold, Brady Schmitz; Versailles: Scott Broerman, Matt Murphy, Matt Barton.

Honorable Mention
  Coldwater: Matt Howell (pitching), Brad Heyne, Gaston Pleiman; St. John's: Adam Metzger, Dan McCormick; Fort Recovery: Clint Tobe, Matt Hein; Minster: Justin Spillers, Eric Bernhold; New Bremen: Logan O'Neill, Tyler Ranly; Parkway: Grant Ross, Jordan Heckler; St. Henry: Andrew Huelsman, Mike Gast.
  Player of the Year: Chad Geier, Coldwater
  Coach of the Year: Brian Harlamert, Coldwater.

First Team
  Amber Heyne (CW), Julie Griesdorn (NB), Tiffany Steinbrunner (P).
Position Players
  Coldwater: Danielle Goubeaux, Betsy Homan; Fort Recovery: Krystal Rammel; Marion Local: Kelli Stucke; Minster: Laura Dircksen, Maria Steineman; New Bremen: Kelly Steineman; Parkway: Erica Yoder, Brittany Young, Jayme Marbaugh; St. Henry: Brenda Hemmelgarn; Versailles: Amber Voisard, Lynette Stauffer, Susan Brown.

Second Team
  Alyssa Tobe (FR), Erin Stueve (M), Danielle Stucke (V), Chelsea Mayer (V)
Position Players
  Coldwater: Ashley Lefeld, Renee Hemmelgarn, Tasha Stucke; Fort Recovery: Renee Evers, Ciera Rammel; Marion Local: Kelly Rosenbeck; Minster: Erin Stueve, Laura Morsey; New Bremen: Elly Cisco; St. Henry: Danielle Kremer, Kylie Elking, Sarah Osterholt; Versailles: Chelsea Mayer.
Honorable Mention
  Coldwater: Amy Hess, Melissa Gaerke; Fort Recovery: Megan Wenning, Brenda Rindler; Marion Local: Lynn Hartke, Lisa Siegrest. New Bremen: Morgan Cox, Audrey Micheal. Parkway: Kristin Roth, Jennifer Murphy; St. Henry: Karla Buschur, Rachel Schmackers. Versailles: Becky Smith, Rachel Schmitz.
  Players of the Year: Krystal Rammel, Fort Recovery and Erica Yoder, Parkway.
  Coach of the Year: Marie Osterholt, Fort Recovery.  


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2005
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822


L10 Web Stats Reporter 3.15 LevelTen Hit Counter - Free Web Counters
LevelTen Web Design Company - Website Development, Flash & Graphic Designers