Today's Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

11-02-05 Lefeld named top player in the MAC

By From staff reports

  Lefeld was a key contributor to the Redskins capturing their 25th conference title -- and 13th in a row. However, the Redskins had to share the title with New Knoxville after the Rangers beat St. Henry in five games during the season. St. Henry coach Lori Schwieterman shared the league's coach of the year honors with New Knoxville's Jenny Fledderjohann.

  Lefeld's jump serve worked just as well as her spiking this season, leading the area with 131 aces, over 50 more than runner-up Rebekah Roehm of Parkway. Lefeld also averaged 3.95 kills per game and 2.33 digs per game for St. Henry.

  Fellow hitter Betsy Hoying and libero Kylie Elking were also named to the first team for St. Henry, which had the most first-team selections.

  New Knoxville (Nicole Wright and Alycia Niemeyer), Marion Local (Jenna Barhorst and Maria Moeller) and Coldwater (Karla Niekamp and Lindsey Bruns) each had two representives on the first team All-MAC.

    The 2005 All-Midwest Athletic Conference volleyball teams (as voted upon by the coaches of the conference)

First Team

  Coldwater: Karla Niekamp (OH) and Lindsey Bruns (MH); Fort Recovery: Tiff Gaerke (MK); Marion Local: Jenna Barhorst (MB) and Maria Moeller (S); New Bremen: Liz Schnelle (MH); New Knoxville: Nicole Wright (MB) and Alycia Niemeyer (MB/OH); Parkway: Rebekah Roehm (MH); St. Henry: Kayla Lefeld (OH), Betsy Hoying (OH) and Kylie Elking (L); Versailles: Justine Raterman (S/OH).

Second Team

  Coldwater: Renee Koesters (MH); St. John's: Jessica Massa (BR); Fort Recovery: Jennalee Post (S); Marion Local: Abby Niekamp (MB) and Stephanie Brunswick (OH); Minster: Laura Morsey (S), Jody Westerheide (OH) and Erica Davis (MH); New Knoxville: Kara Katterheinrich (L) and Gina Bambauer (OH); Parkway: Laura Art (MH); Versailles: Laura Grilliot (OH).

Honorable Mention

  Coldwater: Brittany Klenke; St. John's: Kristen Miller; Fort Recovery: Vicki Roessner' Marion Local: Jenny Hartings; Minster: Laura Gruber; New Bremen: Stephanie Winner; New Knoxville: Kellie Meyer; Parkway: Tory Henkle; St. Henry: Bethany Puthoff; Versailles: Melissa Heft.


Player of the Year: Kayla Lefeld, St. Henry.

Coaches of the Year: Jenny Fledderjohann, New Knoxville and Lori Schwieterman, St. Henry.  


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2005
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822