Today's Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

04-04-06 Celina, St. Marys grab abundance of All-WBL honors


Compiled By

Gary R. Raspberry

Celina and St. Marys were well represented on the All-Western Buckeye League basketball selections list.

  For the boys, Celina's Scott Luthman and St. Marys center Adam Johns earned first-team honors by the coaches of the WBL. Bulldog Andy Muhlenkamp and Roughrider Aaron Pfeffenberger each earned honorable mention honors.   Elida's Aaron Thompson, a key cog in the team's perfect WBL regular season title run, was named the Player of the Year while his coach, Chris Adams, earned Coach of the Year for winning the league crown.

  In the girls selections, league co-champ St. Marys' Toya Anderson and center Kerri Imwalle along with Celina junior Betsy Hone made first-team all-WBL honors.

  Celina's Liz Homan earned special mention recognition with teammate Laura Link making honorable mention. St. Marys' Emily Shellabarger was also named to the honorable mention.

  Roughrider coach Tim Niekamp shared the Coach of the Year award with the three other coaches who guided their teams to a share of the league title (Van Wert's Roland Alvarex, Bath's Greg Mauk and Ottawa-Glandorf's Lori Smith).

  Van Wert star Allie Clifton was named the Player of the Year.

2005-06 Western Buckeye League

All-League Teams


Player of the Year: Aaron Thompson (Elida).

Coach of the Year: Chris Adams (Elida).

First Team

  Scott Luthman (Celina), Dustin Mathias and Aaron Thompson (Elida), Garrick Sherman (Kenton), Garrett Lauf and Ronnie Maynard (Ottawa-Glandorf), Jerin Butler (Shawnee), Adam Johns (St. Marys), Josh Brown and B.J. Reed (Wapakoneta).

Special Mention

  Brock Best (Bath), Kane Wagner (Defiance), Kyle Miller (Elida), Matt Fought and Jordan Pothast (Ottawa-Glandorf), Jordan Leimeister (Shawnee), Kody Heppeard (Van Wert).

Honorable Mention

  Cody Miller (Bath), Andy Muhlenkamp (Celina), Bo Mathias (Elida), Jay Laubenthal (Ottawa-Glandorf), Aaron Pfeffenberger (St. Marys), Logan Smith (Shawnee), Chris Morrow (Van Wert), Randy Schmerge (Wapakoneta).


Player of the Year: Allie Clifton (Van Wert).

Coaches of the Year: Greg Mauk (Bath), Lori Smith (Ottawa-Glandorf), Tim Niekamp (St. Marys), Roland Alvarez (Van Wert).

First Team

  Amy Simindinger and Jessica Vorst (Bath), Betsy Hone (Celina), Elise Jenkins (Elida), Toya Anderson and Kerri Imwalle (St. Marys), Mandy White (Ottawa-Glandorf), Amber Heistan (Shawnee), Allie Clifton (Van Wert), Lindsey Kentner (Wapakoneta).

Special Mention

  Liz Homan (Celina), Ashley Jackson and Dee Dee Hillman (Defiance), Cortney Cornell (Kenton), Haley Ducey (Ottawa-Glandorf), Molly Thompson (Shawnee).

Honorable Mention

  Hannah Rockhold (Bath), Laura Link (Celina), Brittany Parsons (Defiance), Kelly Warris (Elida), Emily Marisco (Kenton), Emily Shellabarger (St. Marys), Emily Langhals (Ottawa-Glandorf), Jena Aller (Shawnee), Jessica McClellan (Van Wert), Devon Golden (Wapakoneta).  


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2006
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822