Today's Pictures
Classified Ads
 Announce Births
Email Us
Buy A Copy
Local Links

Issue Index

04-22-06 Franklin B. Walter winners named

By Kelly Braun

  The Auglaize County Educational Service Center this week honored its local candidates for the Franklin B. Walter Scholastic Award.

  Each year the county chooses one candidate from the senior class of each public school system. Those candidates are honored at a banquet, and then one is chosen to go on to compete in the state competition.

  This year's honorees are:

   Holly Slonecker of Wapak-oneta City Schools. She was chosen as the state candidate.

   Leslie Muhlenkamp of Minster High School.   Sheri Rose of New Bremen High School.

   Amy Fritz of Memorial High School, St. Marys.

   Victoria Mason of New Knoxville High School.

   Susan Manchester of Waynesfield Goshen High School.

  The award is in honor of Franklin B. Walter, who served as superintendent of public instruction in Ohio from March 1977 to August 1991. Throughout his career, he personally and professionally exemplified concern for young people, as well as a dedication to the improvement of education, a news release says.

  In Auglaize County, each senior applicant is judged based on transcripts, standardized test scores, list of activities and awards and a written statement of professional and personal, short-term and long-term goals.

  This year's local banquet was held Wednesday at Wapakoneta High School. Each scholar invited a teacher who has been an influential educator. Those teachers were Heather Harmon of Wapakoneta, Pam Grew of Minster, Miranda Franck of New Bremen, Barbara Sodders of St. Marys, Greg Bornhorst of New Knoxville and Chad Stearns of Waynsefield-Goshen.


Phone: (419)586-2371,   Fax: (419)586-6271
All content copyright 2006
The Standard Printing Company
P.O. Box 140, Celina, OH 45822