Tuesday, January 10th, 2012
By Betty Lawrence
Coldwater swears in new mayor
  COLDWATER - A changing of the guard highlighted Monday's council meeting when Joe Knapschaefer was sworn in as the new mayor.
Vern Stammen announced earlier this year he would not seek a fourth term as mayor and endorsed councilman Knapschaefer for the position. He subsequently was elected to seat by voters in November.
Following a lengthy executive session, council appointed Ralph Schwieterman, a longtime Coldwater building contractor, to fill Knapschaefer's vacant Northwest Ward council seat.
Another new face on the councilor podium is that of Richard Branch, who was elected by voters in November to represent the at-large seat. He replaces retiring councilman Rob Fisher, who chose not to run.
Fisher was presented with an appreciation plaque and key to the city by Stammen in recognition of his work with the village over the past 20 years.
"I've enjoyed my 20 years working for the community. We've had ups and downs, but always came through. Adios," Fisher said.
Councilor Doug Bertke again was elected council president.
In his final report, Stammen noted he has enjoyed the experiences and fellowship of every person he served with over his years of service with the village.
"We had just became a charter village government and and lost New Idea and Buckeye and things looked a bit hectic, but with everyone working together, we feel very safe and financially secure," Stammen said. "My motto was and still is, 'We care, we share. By working together we can do great things.' "    
In other action, councilors accepted a bid for $15,000 from Wellman Brothers for joint sealing of the village swimming pool.
"We've been sealing the pool ourself for 20 years, and it's time to get it done professionally. We've been losing too much water," village manager/engineer Eric Thomas said.
In Thomas' written report of 2012 goals, he highlighted major construction projects consisting of continuation with the water meter replacement and Hardin Ditch project, street repair and implementation of a program to line sanitary manholes and mains.
Several residents leaving a village board or department were presented awards for their years of service. They are: Robert Miller, who served with the village's parks department for 30 years; Theresa Brunet for service as a member of the park board; Dave Homan for service as a member of the Coldwater Planning Commission; Dean Schaller and Charles Froning for their service on the zoning board of appeals; Larry Wolf for service on the tree commission; Tom Homan Jr. for service on the regional planning commission; and Ted Braun and Aric Rutschilling for their service on the fire department.
Councilors slated a finance committee meeting for 5:30 p.m. Jan. 16 at the municipal center.
Additional online stories for this date
Print and E-Edition only stories for this date
• Man dies in accident at Minster Machine
• Council OKs safety service director's pay
• LRC plans meeting with state directors
• More homes built in St. Henry in 2011 than in previous year
• St. Marys to have $19.5 million carryover
• Kramer to fill seat on board of elections
• Board OKs reviving alumni group
• Marion school meets special ed standards
• Fort Recovery's boys ranked #2 in first state poll
Mostly Cloudy
Saturday Night
Partly Cloudy
Mostly Sunny
Sunday Night
Partly Cloudy
Mostly Sunny
Monday Night
Partly Cloudy
Mostly Cloudy
Tuesday Night
Mostly Cloudy
Chance Rain Showers
Wednesday Night
Chance Rain Showers
Slight Chance Rain Showers
Thursday Night
Mostly Cloudy
3 Day
video_logoOnline Video
Friday, October 21
index pict
Coldwater Creek treatment train
camera_logo Photo Albums
Friday, October 21
index pict
Thursday, October 20
index pict